Significance


Maha Sivarathiri is an important festival in celebration of Lord Siva. The monthly Sivarathiri falls on Chathurthasi Thithi which is the day before the new moon (Amavasai). The Sivarathiri that comes in the month of Masi  (February – March) is known as Maha Sivarathiri. Lord Siva blesses his devotees in the form of Lingam. This year, the Maha Sivarathiri is on Tuesday, 13 February 2018.

For further details, click here to download the brochure.


Key Events


Day/ Date Key Events of Maha Sivarathiri 2018

 Monday, 22.01.2018 – Wednesday, 31.01.2018  

 Samrajya Mritunjaya Maha Yaagam

 Thursday, 01.02.2018 – Friday, 02.02.2018

 Indratchi Sivakavasam Chanting

 Saturday, 03.02.18 – Wednesday, 07.02.2018

 Sri Viswanathar Laksharchanai

 Thursday, 08.02.2018

 Maha Ganapathy Homam

 Friday, 09.02.2018

 Ekadasa Rudra Japam

 Saturday, 10.02.2018

 Siva Panchakshara Homam
 Sri Visalakshi Sametha Sri Viswanathar Silver Chariot Procession 
 (6:00pm)

 Monday 12.02.2018

 Rudhra Homam – Gold Chariot Procession (7:30pm)

 Tuesday, 13.02.2018 

 Maha Prathosam (3:00pm)

 Tuesday, 13.02.2018

 Maha Sivarathiri 1008 Milk Pot Abishegam (8:30pm)

 Wednesday, 14.02.2018

 Swarna Vilva Archanai (3:00am)

 Wednesday, 14.02.2018

 Sri Viswanathar Sri Visalakshi Thirukalyanam (5:30pm)


For further details, click here to download the brochure.

Details of Silver Chariot Procession

Time* Programme Details
9:00am

 Siva Panchakshara Homam, Abishegam & Deeparathanai 

12:00pm  Uchikaala Poojai
5:00pm  Special Poojai
6:00pm  Chariot leaves Sri Sivan Temple
6:30pm  Sri Senpaga Vinayagar Temple (Ceylon Road)
7:30pm  Sindhu House (Mountbatten Road)
8:35pm  Blk 615 Bedok Reservoir Road (Opposite Eunos CC)
9:35pm  Circuit Road (Opposite MacPherson CC)
10:40pm  Chariot returns to Sri Sivan Temple

*Estimated timings of the Silver Chariot Procession.


For further details, click here to download the brochure.

Live Video Streaming of Maha Sivarathiri 2018

The 1st to 4th Kaala Abishega Poojai for Lord Siva will streamed live from 6.00pm (Tuesday, 13 February 2018) to 5.00am (Wednesday, 14 February 2018)

Disclaimer: The web streaming is subject to a lag time of the actual video and audio feed, which is dependant on individual’s internet connectivity. Smartphone users can download YouTube mobile application and search for Hindu Endowments Board to view the live streaming or click here to view the live streaming.

Photo Gallery

Contact Us

24 Geylang East Ave 2 Singapore 389752
6743 4566
6743 7622
sst@heb.org.sg