About Sri Sivan Temple
It has been recorded that the Sri Sivan Temple was rebuilt as a solid structure in the early 1850s at the Orchard Road site where the Dhoby Ghaut MRT station is currently located. The Sivalinga was known to be worshiped at this site well before 1850. An order placing Sri Sivan Temple under the Mohammedan and Hindu Endowments Board (set up in 1907) was gazetted on 18 October 1915. In 1968, the Hindu Endowments Board (HEB) was formed to manage four temples including the Sri Sivan Temple.
During the Second World War, some of the statues of secondary deities and a part of the temple structure were damaged by shells that landed around it. Towards the end of the war, renovations were made to the temple and a consecration ceremony was held in July 1943. In 1954, the Municipal Commissioners requested that the temple be rebuilt 14 feet further from the road to widen Orchard Road. Plans to rebuild the temple were drawn up in 1957. Local contractors and skilled craftsmen from India carried out the construction, sculptural and ornamental works. The consecration ceremony was held on 9 December 1964.
In 1983, the Government decided to acquire the land on which the temple stood. An MRT station was to be built underground. Therefore, a transit temple was built next to the Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple at Serangoon Road. All the deities from the Orchard Road Temple were installed in the new site at Serangoon Road and all daily prayers and festivals celebrated continued without disruption. The Hindu Endowments Board had intended to make the new temple unique in appearance, features and facilities. The Board and the management committee of the temple consulted well-known temple architects in India. The Board sent a team to study the best of both the North and South Indian Temples. What followed was a unique design with an octagonal structure with a multipurpose hall and staff quarters.
The new temple was built at a cost of $6 million on a 3,000-square metre plot at Geylang East. The new site is about four-and-a-half times bigger than the temple’s former site at Orchard Road. After ten years of temporary residence at Serangoon Road, the Sri Sivan Temple was consecrated at its present Geylang East site on 30 May 1993.
The major festivals celebrated at Sri Sivan Temple are Vinayagar Sathurthi, Vaikasi Visakam Brahmotsavam, Thirukarthigai, Arudra Dharisanam, Thiruvembavai Vizha, Maha Sivarathiri, Vasantha Navarathiri, Guru Peryarchi, Sani Peyarchi, Navarathiri and Skantha Shasti.